DST Organisation

Last modified at 03/08/2016 12:49 by kstepuser


​Department of Science and Technology
 ​                                                                                                          Government of Karnataka

Science and Technology (S&T) are regarded as the most powerful tools of growth and development for any country especially in the current scenario of emerging and competitive economy. Hence, S&T have become the engines of the socio-economic and cultural development in today's world, which have been profoundly influencing daily lives of common people. Development of S&T is particularly important in order to raise the standard of living, to eradicate blind belief & superstitions, create wealth as well as to ensure sustainable utilization of natural resources and conservation of biodiversity.

This emphasize the importance of mainstreaming science, technology and innovation in all sectors of the economy, which will enable harnessing scientific advancements and technological innovations for the societal well being, particularly in the rural areas. Therefore, it is necessary to spread scientific developments, scientific awareness and spirit of scientific temper across the society to improve the living standards of rural people. Furthermore, scientific awareness can strengthen and empower the entire social fabric as well as help in achieving overall development of people in an increasingly competitive global market. Hence, Department of Science and Technology (DST) was established in 1981 to coordinate science and technology developments in the State of Karnataka.​


Karnataka Science and Technology Promotion Society (KSTePS):
Serves as a mechanism to support the Department of Science and Technology in the preparation and implementation of its policy initiatives and act as a nodal agency for channelizing funding as well as to coordinate programs of the Department across the State.

Karnataka Science and Technology Academy (KSTA):
Autonomous organization which is established in September 2005.Chairman of KSTA is Prof. U R Rao, Former Chairman, ISRO. 14 members comprising of eminent scientists, well-known educationalists and senior administrators. The main objectives of this organization are to popularize science and technology development in order to inculcate scientific temper among students and general public and to encourage higher studies and research in basic science.

Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology (KSCST):
A registered Society of the State of Karnataka established in the year 1975 under Societies Registration Act 1960. The General Body and the Executive Committee of the Council is constituted by the Government once in 3 years. Hon'ble Chief Minister of the State of Karnataka is the President of the Council and Director, Indian Institute of Science is the Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Council. To identify areas for the application of Science and Technology to the development needs objectives and goals of Karnataka and in particular to the prevailing conditions of backwardness, rural unemployment and poverty.

Vision Group on Science and Technology (VGST):
The Vision Group on Science and Technology (VGST) was constituted by the Government under the Chairmanship of distinguished scientist Bharat Ratna Professor C.N.R. Rao, F.R.S. VGST serves as an apex body in the administrative control of the Department of Information Technology, Biotechnology & Science and Technology for recommending, co-ordination and implementation of Science and Technology promotional programs and policies in the state.

Karnataka Rajya Vijnana Parishat (KRVP):
The Karnataka Rajya Vijnana Parishat (KRVP) was established as an NGO in the year 1980 with the main objective of popularizing Science and thereby inculcating a scientific temper among the people of the State in general and the student community in particular. To achieve this objective, the Parishat has been executing a number of science popularizing programmes with financial assistance from both Central and State Govts.

Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium (JNP):
Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium (Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium), Bangalore, was established in 1989 by the Bangalore City Corporation, now known as the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP). The administration of the planetarium was entrusted to Bangalore Association for Science Education (BASE) which was formed in 1992. BASE is an Autonomous Body which is registered under Karnataka Societies' Registration Act. It is principally supported by annual grants from the Department of Science and Technology, Government of Karnataka.


KST Academy          Bangalore India Nano opens in new window          Bengaluru Science Gallery opens in new window