GOK > Department of Horticulture > Organisation Chart
Last modified at 02/02/2018 16:53 by System Account

Organisation Chart

The Department of Horticulture is one of the Major Departments of the state which undertakes the development of horticulture. The Department is headed by the Director of Horticulture and he is assisted by three Additional Director of Horticulture and six Joint Directors of Horticulture

At the district level, the Deputy Director of Horticulture under the Zilla Panchayat looks after the extension and training programs and implements the several District Sector Schemes. The Deputy Director of Horticulture also assists the NABARD for extending credit facilities to farmers by providing technical feasibility reports. He is also responsible for an overall development of horticulture in the district.

At district level, the Senior Assistant Director of Horticulture (State Sector) looks after the maintenance of horticultural farms and nurseries. He is mainly responsible for the propagation of planting materials and also for implementation of various state sector and central sector schemes. The Senior Assistant Director of Horticulture (State Sector) also implements the Horticultural Training Programme through the Horticultural Training Centers established in all the 20 districts of the State.

At the taluka level, the Senior Assistant Director of Horticulture and Assistant Director of Horticulture under Zilla Panchayat are implementing various developmental programmes of the Department. They are responsible for the overall development of horticulture in the taluk.

Apart from the above, the Deputy Director of Horticulture and Senior Assistant Directors at the State Headquarters look after independently certain special programmes like plant protection, seed testing, plant nutrition, floriculture, fruits and vegetable preservation, plantation and spices, farm information unit, Lalbagh Botanical garden, Cubbon park etc. 

Content Owned and Maintained by :Department of Horticulture, Government of Karnataka

Disclaimer: Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance Government of Karnataka

©2016, All Rights Reserved.

pm india
CM Karnataka logo
nic logo