This Task Group has completed its tasks and is closed ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

KJA Task Group on Karnataka State Education Policy (KSEP)​

Karnataka is one of the leading states in education with a wide range of preferred school, collegiate and professional education system that has evolved over many years. Karnataka has leading science and technology institutions of the country; the state is also now globally acclaimed for its achievement in the higher technology arena and as manufacturing hub. Given this status, Karnataka aspires to rise to greater heights so that its future generations can be assured of a high-quality education that will prepare them for an effective role in state and national development processes.

Development is the need of the hour in the state and in the nation. It is recognised that holistic development of school, collegiate and professional education - inter-linked with skill-based education, research and innovation, integrating analytical and technical skills for research and innovation is extremely important. Karnataka has to prepare for a shift in education system from what it is today to a dynamic environment that will create the knowledge professionals of the future. Taking cognizance of all these Honourable Minister for Higher Education and Tourism, GoK, in his vision for the future educational scenario for the state, envisaged a state Education Policy and requested KJA to prepare a Karnataka State Education Policy (KSEP) for the state.

To develop such an Education Policy, KJA constituted the Task Group on Karnataka State Education Policy composed of best of experts under the co-chairmanship of Mr. Mohandas Pai and Prof. K.S. Rangappa. The Task Group will be mentored by Mr. S.V. Ranganath, Vice Chairman, Karnataka State Higher Education council. The Group will develop a holistic and all-encompassing policy for forward-looking and futuristic education with an aim of making Karnataka have a state-of-art education system. The Task Group has the following experts as members:  

                                                                                                                                                                                                         Click here for the Office Order

The Task Group has the following membership: 

​01​​​Mr.  Mohandas ​Pai, Member, KJA​​​-​​​Co-Chair​
​02Prof. KS Rangappa, VC, Mysore University-Co-Chair
​03Vice Chancellor, VTU, Belgaum -Member
04Vice Chancellor, RGUHS, Bengaluru-Member
05Vice-Chancellor, Karnataka University,  Dharwad-Member
06Mr. Chenraj Jain, Jain University,  Bangalore-Member
07Director, IISc  (or nominated representative)-Member
08Prof. HP Khincha, Chairman, KSInC-Member
09Chairman, National Public School, Bangalore-Member
10Director, IIM-Bangalore (or nominated representative)-Member

Vice-Chancellor, National Law School of India University

Bangalore (or nominated representative)

12Dr. Padma Sarangapani, ISEC, Bangalore-Member
13Dr. Shukla Bose, Member, KJA-Member
14Dr. Manish Sabharwal, Member, KJA-Member
15Dr. Sangeeth Verghese, Member, KJA-Member
16Dr.  Mukund Rao, Member-Secretary, KJA-Member
17Prof. Sadagopan, Director, IIIT-B/Member, KJA-Member
18Prof.  Anurag Behar, VC-Azim Premji University-Member
19Mr. Anand Sudharshan, Education Expert-Member
20Dr.  Parth J Shah, Centre for Civil Society, New Delhi-Member
21Principal Secretary, HED (or nominated representative)-Member
22Principal Secretary, PED (or nominated representative)-Member
23Dr. Leena Chandran Wadia, Sr. Fellow, ORF, Mumbai- Member Secretary


​Mr. Deepak Krishnappa, Senior Research Associate, KJA


For further information please contact Member Secretary, KJA at mukund.k.rao@gmail.com​ and/or Member Secretary of the Task Group at leena.wadia@gmail.com