​Major Acts & Rules Administered by the Department

​The Major Acts & Rules administered by the Department are as follows:

  • Registration Act, 1908
  • The Karnataka Registration Rules, 1965
  • The Indian Partnership Act, 1932 and Rules made there under
  • The Indian Stamp Act, 1899 and Rules made there under
  • The Karnataka Stamp Act, 1957
  • The Karnataka Stamp Rules, 1958
  • The Karnataka Stamp (Prevention of Under valuation of Instruments) Rules, 1977
  • The Karnataka Stamp (Constitution of Central Valuation Committee for Estimation, Publication and Revision of Market Value Guidelines of Properties) Rules, 1992
  • The Karnataka Stamp (Franking Impression of Stamps) Rules, 2000.
  • The Karnataka Court Fees and Suits Valuation Act, 1958 and Rules made there under
  • The Karnataka Registration (Deed Writers License) Rules, 1979

Apart from these Acts, the following Acts having a bearing on the Registration of documents are also being implemented indirectly.

  • The Income-tax Act, 1961
  • The Karnataka Land Reforms Act, 1961
  • The Karnataka Land Grants Rules, 1969
  • The Karnataka SC/ST (Prohibition of Transfer of Certain Lands) Act, 1978
  • The Karnataka Land (Restriction on Transfer) Act, 1991
  • The Karnataka Land revenue Act, 1964 and Rules